Return to Headlines

CHS National Honor Society Honored at Cleburne City Council Meeting

                Members of the Cleburne High School chapter of National Honor Society have been honored by Mayor Scott Cain in recognition of their achievements, and in observance of the 100th anniversary of the national student organization built on scholarship, service, leadership and character.

                In a Mayor’s Proclamation presented to chapter President Dillion Grisham, Vice-President Amy Fowler, Treasurer Mackenzie James, Historian Brenda Zamora-Chavez and Faculty Sponsor Piper Davis, Cain commended the Cleburne members of NHS for their achievements, and their involvement in service to others.  

                “I know it has been a difficult series of months, beginning with the spring of 2020 and the start of COVID, which canceled so many activities for our high school students,” Cain said. “I am so thankful for this opportunity to recognize the officers and members of the CHS National Honor Society at our city council meeting. These students are truly the future leaders of our community and country. Great things are in store for each of them.”

                Cain was also recognized with an NHS medallion making him an honorary member of the CHS chapter.

                “Both of my sons were in the National Honor Society at Cleburne High School,” Cain said. “I’m also a proud Cleburne graduate—but I wasn’t in NHS. Being chosen as an honorary member means so much to me. I can’t wait to tell them.”

                Davis, who works closely with students as the NHS faculty sponsor, said the past year has been a challenge for members to be involved in traditional service activities due to the restrictions of COVID--but they all found a way.

                “Some of our most beloved service projects have become more challenging this past year, as national guidelines have placed the health and safety of members, and their families, over large group activities,” Davis said. “These kids are eager to resume their work in these special projects, where they have seen the results of their efforts and dedication make a difference.”

                Among the favorites of Cleburne NHS students are work with the Tarrant Area Food Bank and Christmas in Action. Pre-COVID, chapter members teamed up with classmates in the CHS Key Club to contribute 10,420 pounds of food to the Tarrant Area Food Bank, which also serves Johnson County residents. Their involvement included a Saturday at the food bank, where they packed up 8,336 boxed meals for distribution to those in need.

                Students have also donated hours to Cleburne’s Christmas in Action, assisting with home improvement projects for the elderly and disabled--from painting to yard work. A holiday service project had chapter members crafting fleece blankets to share with residents of Colonial Manor Nursing Center at Christmas.

                “While service took on different forms this year, our members have remained involved, individually and in small groups,” Davis said. “They have found ways to help on our campus, in their neighborhoods and in their churches. Our NHS students ran the concession stands for several of our sports programs, including soccer and baseball. Through all of this, our members have learned that leadership and character goes beyond walls and their school.”

                Juniors and seniors who have maintained at least a 3.5 grade point average from the 9th-11th grades are eligible to apply for membership in NHS.

                Cleburne members also include Dariana Aguilar, Parisa Ahmady, Alex Archer, Trey Archer, Caroline Bennett, Ally Benson, Audree Bicknell, Samantha Blanchette, Marissa Bosher, Jade Boyd, Rebekah Brockett, Jade Buentello, Emma Burns, Raymond Campos, Mackenzie Carlson, Aliya Carrizales, Jacob Carver, Logan Cato, Alicia Chavez, Tylar Chumley, Rylie Clark, Jaxon Coates, Hailie Cochran, Giullia Conceicao, Jazmin Contreras, Alana Cooper, Alyssa Cox, Jordenne Cunningham, Carter Day, Ana Delabra, Ja’Kobe Duix, Kirstie Dorries, Lily Edwards, Antares Ewell, Jase Felton, Ethan Flores, Elena Fojtasek, Julieanna Fonseca, Lorena Fonseca, Arlett Garcia, Liliana Garnica, Israel Gutierrez, Julie Hall, Matthew Harman, Samara Harman, Carson Harris, Alexiah Henson, Ashley Hernandez, Camiel Hilton, Keaton Howe, Kylee Howington, Rene Huerta, Breanna Huighes, Jacob Irvin, Nick Keramidis, Grant King, James Labo, Lauren Lackey, Karla Lara.

                Also, Alacia Ledoux, Ashlyn Long, Jimmy Lopez, Cooper Madison, Juan Mares Ramirez, Audrey McClure, Hannah Marion-secretary; Briana Martinez, Jada Martinez, Pedro Martinez, Sady Mathis, Morgen Mathson, Addison Moore, Pamela Moreno, Gavin Naquin, Tammy Nguyen, Mariana Noriega, Paige O’Leary, Nubia Ortega, Gisell Ortiz, Josie Peña, Anahy Perez, Jake Piety, Jaret Piety, Sydney Pioquinto, Pacie Pugh, Lizbeth Ramirez, Kate Renner, Tamara Reyes, Piper Reyna, Courtney Rhodes, Leslie Sanchez, Emma Schulte, Madison Sepulveda, Amar Sharma, Rhadja Silva-parliamentarian, Brently Smith, Joy Smith, Karmen Smith, Sandra “Nemo” Solis, Avery Tapia, Rayann Thomas, Jessica Torres, Andrew Tucker, Moises Vargas-Pacheco, Camila Varjao-Alfaro, Isabel Vasquez, Ashley Vega-Enamorado, Daniel Villegas, Jonathan Walker, Addison Weinshenk, Aubrey Whitehead, Chloe Whitehead, Malea Whiteside, Dylan  Witte, Zoe Wilson and Taliana Youngberg.