Return to Headlines

Smith Middle School 7th, 8th Teams Named Quad County Zone 2 Champions


                Smith Middle School football ended the season in the winner’s circle again this year, with the 8th grade Black Team and 7th Grade Gold Team named Quad County Zone 2 District Champions.

                Smith’s 8th grade A squad ended their season at 7-2, highlighted with every district game in the win column. The 7th grade Gold Team finished at 5-3-1, winning all but one district game, while tying another.

                Eighth Grade Coach and Smith Boys Athletic Coordinator Michael Hoots listed games against Stephenville the biggest—and best—of the year for both teams, with the Cleburne Yellow Jackets coming out on top.

                “This 8th grade team is one of the best groups I have coached here in Cleburne,” Hoots said. “They worked hard each day and the results definitely showed at the end. I can’t wait to watch them play in high school. The 7th grade Gold Team played great all season. They never backed down to a challenge.”

                Smith’s football accolades for the 2021 season have been added to what was achieved in 2020 when both 8th grade teams and the 7th grade Black team were all crowned Zone 2 Champions.

                Members of the SMS 8th grade Black Team include Hunter Barlen, Carlos Rico, Jayden Navarrete, Kaeden Grant, CJ Kensley, Caleb Rains, Major Marvell, Maddox Shields, Beaux Douthitt, Malachi Cunningham, Taylor Followill, Donta Cellard, Stephen Anderson, Pryce Elms, Luke Watson, Cody Diaz, Drake Espinoza, Rickey Williams, Elias Tarango, Adriel Martinez and Caden Brown. Their coaches also include Quay Smith, Perry McCuistion and Chaz Clinkscales.

                Making up the Zone 2 District Champion 7th Grade Gold Team are Kayden Jordan, John Maestas, Zaidyn Husband, Dallas Mondragon, Caleb Kirby, Kylan Lee, Landon Jordan, Cruz Cardoso, Ezequiel Reynaga, Christian Gentry, Isahi DonJuan, Colby Ellison, Jaxon Starnes, AmiJames Solberg, Luke Edmiston, Cooper White, Allen Golden, Damon Smith, Brayden Grover, Corbin Peterson, Juan Vasquez, Gavin Rose, Anthony Aponte, Chase Coggin, Connor Cline, Francisco Lara, Slayton Turner, Riley Hill, Reese Randolph, Cayden Applegate, Hunter Preusser, Charles Crisp, Jeremiah Robertson, Gavin Torres, Aidan Reyes, Korey Lindstrom, Ismael Reyes, Izayah Pollard, Aiden Adair, David Esparza, Martin Sosa and Daniel Reynaga, coached by Jeff Boman, Timothy Gill and Richard Wilson.