Return to Headlines

More Than 65 Members of Golden Pride Competing in State Solo-Ensemble Contest

                More than 65 members of the Cleburne High School Golden Pride Band will be competing Saturday in the UIL Texas State Solo-Ensemble Contest in Austin.

                Following performances at the District contest, 22 Cleburne soloists received superior ratings in advancing to state, with members of 14 ensembles also qualifying. A number of the CHS students will be competing in both events.

                Among the state-qualifying soloists are George Alazar, Jase Bailey, Angelina Barfield, Logan Cato, Alyssa Cox, Thomas Cox, Kevin De Angelo, Christopher Diaz, Erin Febinger, Lily Fojtasek, Alonzo Gonzalez, Matthew Griffin, Melissa Griffin, Dakota King, Ryelyn Lott, Logan Metts, Charlie Patty, Rane Robinson, Nathan Rodriguez, Noah Taylor, Andrew Tucker and Moises Vargas-Pacheco.

                “Several of our state qualifiers are members of the CHS Class of 2022,” Band Director Jason Jones said. “We are thrilled to see them achieve this state honor and represent Cleburne High School Golden Pride one more time before they leave for college. Among these graduates are a handful who will be continuing their band careers at the college level—and have chosen music education as majors.”

                Competing in the ensemble competition are: Chloe Calvert, Alonzo Gonzalez, Fernando Hernandez, Maryn Tennison, Moises Vargas-Pacheco-Brass Quintet; Chris Diaz, Rosie Ortiz, Emmanuel Salgado, David Thornton; Carly Doty, Julius Guzman, Jacob Rodriguez, Nathan Williams-Clarinet Quintets; Emily Day, Reagan Horton, Briana Martinez; Nayeli Arias, Melissa Griffin, Kassandra Martinez-Flute Trios; Lily Fojtasek, Ryelyn Lott, Charlie Patty-Horn Trio.

                Two Percussion Ensembles have also qualified for state. Members include Jase Bailey, Angelina Barfield, Ray Campos, Logan Cato, Danny Churchill, Audrey McClure, Felipe Muzquiz, Nathan Rodriguez, Chase Watson and Peyton Funderburk, Matthew Griffin, Logan Metts, Viviana Ramirez, Robert Rhea, Josh Salgado and Malachi Simpson.

                Rounding out the Pride’s list of state-qualifying ensembles, and members, are Zamara Aguilar, Rane Robinson, Noah Taylor, Logan Thorne-Saxophone Quartet; Anthony Guadamuz, Tyler Hollis, Jay Jones, Kayden Spurgeon-Trumpet Quartet; Preston Barfield, Thomas Cox, Zach Harlow, Dakota King and Thomas Cox, Kevin DeAngelo, Zach McCoy and Sarah Taylor-Tuba/Euphonoim Quartets; George Alazar, Alyssa Cox, Zach McClure and Kelsey Meland, Emma Schulte and Andrew Tucker-Woodwind Trios.