Return to Headlines

CHS Receives National Safe Sports School Award

Cleburne High School’s Athletic Training program has received the Safe Sports School Award from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association in meeting recommended standards to improve safety in sports.

            Cleburne received the 1st Team designation in complying with a ten-point criteria based on best practices relating to student care, the development of protocols, injury intervention and the creation of an Emergency Action Plan for every venue in the district where students practice and compete. The award certification is effective through 2024.

            Making up the CISD athletic trainers team are Meaghan Williams, John “Doc” Robertson and Lane Gibbs.

            “This award recognizes the effort, along with the hard work and commitment of our athletic trainers, our student trainers and our overall program, under the coordination of CISD Athletic Director Jeri Larrison-Hall,” Gibbs said. “The very standards required for this honor were already in place and in use in our athletic training program. This reflects the level of dedication and care we provide to our athletes.”

            Gibbs said major contributors to the program are the student trainers who assist in taping and wrapping athletes in preparation for a game as well as providing care and attention throughout the game. They are enrolled in student training classes at CHS, learning all aspects of health care relating to the role of the trainer, from wound care techniques to injury rehabilitation. Student trainers are also CPR certified.

            “We can’t do our jobs without our student trainers,” Gibbs said. “Our coaches tell us all the time that our students are amazing. Without them our jobs would be very difficult—they help us stretch farther in providing the coverage needed for our athletic events.”

            “They come in early for practices, stay for afternoon practices, then go to games, while being fulltime students,” he said. “Many also have part-time jobs. Our student trainers are self-starters. They know what to do, and do it in getting things done. Our veteran trainers are also great in serving as leaders to those new to the program. This national award is not only an achievement for our program, but also our student trainers.”

            Participants in the student trainer program are Seniors Rosaura Chavez, Chelsei Long, Gloria Rodriguez; Juniors Jasmine Collazo, Jayden Key,Abby Smith; Sophomores Katy Britt, Will Harp, Lorelei Keils, Ivy Grace Smith and Freshmen Angelina Arias, Jared Braswell, Alina Gonzalez, Jaycee Hampton, Jae Jackson, Nallely Juarez, D'Erikah Miller, Kyla Morales, Jaci Peterson, Julius Pierce and Stephen Works.

            “We are always pleased to see our teams and programs recognized for outstanding performance,” Larrison-Hall said. “This includes our athletic training program. This is the first recognition of its kind for us, and we are proud to have the award banner reflecting the level of care we provide to our students hanging in the Jeff D. Cody Arena.”

            Standards criteria for the Safe Sports School status include: the creation of a positive athletic health care administrative system; provision of pre-participation physical exams; promotion of safe and appropriate practice and competition facilities; a plan for selection, fit function and proper maintenance of athletic equipment; a permanent, appropriately equipped area to evaluate and treat injured athletes; developing injury and illness prevention strategies, including protocols for environmental conditions; providing or facilitating injury intervention; creating and rehearsing a venue-specific Emergency Action Plan; providing or facilitating social/emotional/mental health consultation and nutritional counseling/education and educating athletes and their parents/guardians about the potential benefits and risks in sports, as well as their responsibilities.