Return to Headlines

January is School Board Recognition Month


                Cleburne ISD is joining with districts across the state in celebrating January as School Board Recognition Month and honoring the dedication and service of the seven members making up our Board of Trustees.

                “Rising Above” is the theme of this year’s observance, reflecting the commitment to students, schools and success in the classroom. Making up the district’s governing board are Elizabeth Childress, president; Teddy Martyniuk, vice-president; Dr. Jason Tennison, secretary; Wendell Dempsey, June Bates, John Finnell and DeAnna King.  School Board Recognition Month

Elected by voters, and serving in a voluntary capacity, Trustees are a link between the community and Cleburne schools. Their primary responsibilities include the review, establishment and adoption of policies, approval of the annual budget and the selection and evaluation of the superintendent.

“We are very grateful for the service and support given to the students, staff and schools of Cleburne ISD by our Board of Trustees,” Superintendent Dr. Kyle Heath said. “The commitment of time, study and research in preparing for our monthly board meetings and periodic workshops, and their efforts to stay abreast of issues relating to public education reflect their dedication and exemplary level of leadership—together as a governing board, and individually.”

“Every member of our board is or has been a parent or grandparent of a CISD student,” Heath said. “Their involvement and service began as band and athletic boosters, PTA leaders and members of our Volunteers In Public Schools program. Their care and concern for students and their education led them to seek election to our board of trustees. As a district, and a community, it is most fitting to express our appreciation for these school and community servants and the valuable contributions they provide in making excellence happen in Cleburne ISD—every day.”

The spotlight will be turned on Trustees at the January 18 school board meeting during the time of recognition.